About the LDC group

The Least Developed Countries are 47 nations that are especially vulnerable to climate change but have done the least to cause the problem. They work together at the intergovernmental negotiations under the UN Framework Convention on Climate Change (UNFCCC) to demand that wealthier nations act in accordance with their responsibility for creating the problem and their capability for addressing it.

The current chair of the LDC group is Mr. Gebru Jember Endalew (Ethiopia).

The UNFCCC website has a comprehensive collection of links to information that is of specific interest for LDCs, such as work on national adaptation programmes of action (NAPA), the work of the LDC Expert Group (LEG), the Least Developed Countries Fund (LDCF), relevant LDC decisions and Conclusions and frequently asked questions on NAPAs, the LEG and the LDCF.

The LDC group receives support for its work under the UN Framework Convention on Climate Change from the UK Department for International Development (DFID) – through its funding of the Climate and Development Knowledge Network (CDKN) for the benefit of developing countries. The views expressed by the LDC group and information contained on this website are not those of, or endorsed by, DFID or CDKN.